SIGHTSEEING OF ABKHAZIA.
The Besletian bridge, preserved from ancient times and almost untouched by time, is located 6 km from Sukhum, in a picturesque gorge where the Basla River flows.
Bagrat Castle – Once a majestic bastion, on a mountain, in the eastern part of Sukhum. Built at the end of the X beginning of the XI century, during the reign of the king of Abkhazia Bagrat III
Kelasurskaya. The Great Abkhazian Wall – Built in the 30s. VI century By order of the Byzantine emperor Justinian, who defended the country from attacks from the North Caucasus, it lost its military significance already in the 15th century.
Botanical Garden – The history of the creation of the garden dates back to the 30s of the nineteenth century. The official date for the creation of the botanical garden, “broken by the doctor Bagrinovsky in the fortress of Sukhum”, is 1838. The garden is open daily, in the summer from 8.30 to 21.00, in the winter from 10.00 to 18.00.
Abkhaz State Museum, which was created in the second half of the XIX century. The museum houses exhibits made of ceramics, metal and fabric, as well as numerous historical documents. A large part of the collection of the museum of local lore is monuments of culture and life of Abkhazia, however there are also finds from neighboring regions of the Caucasus, Egypt, Greece, Rome, Byzantium, Iran and Russia.
Monkey Nursery – On the slope of the picturesque Mount Trapezia in Sukhum, there is a research institute for experimental pathology and therapy of the Academy of Sciences of Abkhazia, colloquially called the Sukhum monkey nursery.
Sukhum fortress – the founder of the city of Sukhum. At the dawn of our era, the Romans who built it, called it Sebastopolis (“Holy City”), the Turks who strengthened it in the XVII century, renamed it Sukhum-Kale. Today, only ruins remained from the fortress, but still they are an integral part of the city landscape, witnesses of the centuries-old and heroic history of the city.
Kaman – The village of Kaman is located 15 km from Sukhum on the left bank of the Gumista River. Here, according to Christian tradition, the Holy Martyr Basilisk (308) and St. John Chrysostom (407) were buried. You can visit the ruins of a medieval church, the tomb of St. Basilisk, a source of healing water, as well as an Orthodox monastery operating since 2002. Two churches operate on the territory of the monastery: the church of St. John Chrysostom and the temple of the martyr Basilisk.
New Athos (Anakopia) cave – In New Athos, there is a mystery of the underground kingdom, a unique cave system, which is not inferior to Carlsbad cave in the USA in its beauty, diversity, length, tourist attendance and mystery,
Iverskaya Mountain – a mountain on which a well-fortified settlement appeared in the first centuries of our era became one of the first Christian centers of Abkhazia. The settlement that existed on it from the 4th to the 17th centuries. called Anacopia.
The Anacopian Fortress is a small ring of a hill fortress, the walls of which are built of large, well-crafted limestone blocks, built in the spirit of the best Roman building traditions. The fortress gates are formed by three limestone monoliths and are raised high above the ground; it was possible to get to the fortress only by the attached wooden staircase. In the eastern part of the fence, stone steps are visible from the inside, along which in ancient times warriors climbed the wall. It was this fortification that was known to the Byzantine authors under the name Trachea. Chapel of the Icon of the Mother of God – “The Deliverer”
New Athos Monastery – The history of the Orthodox New Athos Monastery (Simon-Kananitsky Monastery) is relatively small. In August 1875, several monks of the monastery of St. Panteleimon, located on Mount Athos in Greece, arrived in Abkhazia to choose a place for a new monastery. This was preceded by their appeal in 1874 to the governor of the Caucasus, Grand Duke Mikhail Romanovich, asking for land for the construction of a new monastery. The highest consent was given, and already in 1876 the construction of the lower part of the monastery began on the deserted coast of the Black Sea.
Grotto and temple of the apostle Simon Kananit – 500-600 m from the temple upstream of the Syrtskhi river, there is a grotto in which, according to legend, Simon Kanonit lived for almost two years (53-55 AD), preaching the ideas of Christianity to the local pagan tribes.
In the village of Primorskoye near New Athos, the ponds and waterfalls of the Primorsky park were broken in 1910 when the royal family arrived. The park has retained its beauty to this day and is a pleasant place for walking. In his ponds live swans.
Just a kilometer from the park there are hydrogen sulfide springs, where everyone can take mud baths for a small fee. First, it is recommended to lie down in a hot pool, and then smear with mud, which after 20 minutes should be washed off in the shower.
The Patriarchal Cathedral – in the middle of the X century, became the department of the Abkhaz Catholicos. Here the elections of the Catholicos-Patriarchs of Abkhazia, the ordination of bishops took place. In the XI – XV centuries, the cathedral was repeatedly updated. In the XVII century, under the threat of an attack from the Turks, the chair of the Catholicos of Abkhazia was transferred to Gelati (Georgia), the cathedral was abandoned.